I tell myself each time I pick up a book “Don’t read about anything related to pregnancy or babies” or anything that would get me upset. I picked up “Three Seasons” by Jane Hansen, an Australian journalist and war correspondant. I thought to myself “fabulous! An exciting read, and bonus! She’s Aussie too!”

As I got into the book, it turned out that it wasn’t just about her ventures overseas and dodging landmines in Iraq, little sleep, no life… It was Jane’s battle with becoming a mother.

“OH GOD DAMN IT!!” my brain shouted to me…I always do this…

However, this book is one of those ones that can honestly go down as one of those ones that really and truly change your life…

At 38, she began her journey to motherhood. Out of the 4 pregnancies she concieved, she lost 2 of them- one baby at 10 weeks into the pregnancy, and another baby at 19 weeks- a baby called Thomas.

During her 3rd pregnancy, she went into labour at 26 weeks, giving birth to her son Jackson. Little Jackson’ story has been told beautifully by his mother, his fight for life, his amazing struggle…It made me smile, laugh and above all, it made me cry. So very much…his poor mother and father…their journey was a long one! And one well worth it. Jackson was so very worth it, despite what people may think.

Only critisism, as is with anyone who has gone to have a more ‘signifiant’ loss ( later stage pregnancy loss, still birth), as much as it does hurt…I was disappointed to see that the baby she miscarried- the first baby she lost- only got a few pages dedicated to him or her…it only resonates with me because it makes me feel as though what I have gone through with both of my babies, it is not importnant…that the grief is ‘better’, it is sadder to lost a baby further along…I thought the pain was all the same, regardless. It has left me wondering if the devestation that I feel over Lily and Speck..how much worse would it have been if I had lost them later into my pregnancies? If I had lost them at 20 weeks, 30 weeks, full term…

I guess that the reason losing them has hit me so hard is simply becuase I was so young…17 and 20 respectivley is too young to know the horrors and grief of losing a child ( in my case, children) to miscarriage. I should not know this horrible world, this club, that we are all members of…

Above all, if you are going to read one life changing book, read this one!!! It has made me appreciate my angel babies just that little more, made me appreciate my life and everything I have…

Sleep well little Jackson

Deepdreamer

 

