Day one.

I realised I had a lot of questions that I wish I had thought to ask the doctor.

Will it inerfere with my contraceptive pill?

Can I take it on an empty stomach?

What sort of feeling, if any, should I expect?

The first time round, in 2006, when I was on anti-depressants, it was awful. I was on them ( I cannot remember which ones they were because I couldn’t pronnounce the name!) for a total of 3 months. I remember feeling sluggish, like I was living in a fog. They numbed everything- I wasn’t happy, I wasn’t sad, I couldn’t feel anything. I guess I felt like a zombie. Or what I imagine being a zombie would feel like. My doctor was useless. I could tell he just couldn’t be bothered with me, didn’t have time to listen to me, and put me on the anti-depressants without taking the time to properly assess me, or suggest alternatives.

Essentially, it was awful.

This time round, I am sure it will be different. I feel different, it is a different depression. The time I spent talking to my new doctor was…well, great! She took the time to ask lots of questions, perfom a proper, adequate assessment and come up with a diagnosis of depression combined with anxiety.

She was well worth the week’s wait.

