I was fortunate enough to finish work today before lunch. If you live anywhere like I do, the choice of entertainment on TV is slim. Crap, even. Today, I caught half of a movie called “The Pregnancy Pact”. Made in 2010, it is set in a conservative town in Massachusetts, USA. From what I gathered, a group of teenaged girls decided to make a “pact”, a promise, to fall pregnant and raise their babies together in blissful ever after. None of them realised that the reality of teenage pregnancy is hard and tough. ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ce0ES19thzY ).

All in all, it wasn’t a bad view. It accuratley portrayed the feelings I had myself when I found meself pregnant at 17. Fear, joy, overwhelming love, head in the clouds idealism, a loss of childhood. While I did not make the decision these girls did, they did show the one aspect that rang true. Continually, the girls were reminded of thier loss of future. “Don’t you want to go to college, finish high school, leave this town? Why tie yourself down with a baby?”. The girls recognised that motherhood was equally as fufilling as further education and a future. And they could still do that. Just with a few detours along the way. I imagine, had I been given the chance to have Lily, that I woulnd’t be any different now- I would have still gone to university to qualify as a teacher, it is quite possible that my DF and I would have still gotten together, and it is possible that I would have left home. A baby dosen’t stop you from achieving your dreams. It just re-routs them for a while.

The film summed up with what I wholeheartedly agree with. Teenage pregnancy is not something that can be prevented, it is something that is going to continue to occurr. The aspect of it that society, parents and the teenage mothers, is the lack of support and knowledge. A girl who is supported by her family, and given ALL of the infromation with regards to sex education and pregnancy prevention, as well a pregnancy and motherhood, has just as much of a shot at a “successful” future, as one who has never fallen pregnant.

It wasn’t that I didn’t know better. My birth control failed. It happens. Did it make me a bad person? No. It made me HUMAN.

The movie suppored the idea that at the end of the day, teenage pregnancy happens, and with the right education and support, girls will hear “Congratulations on the new baby” rather than “Your life is ruined now.”

I don’t know where we can start as a society, but removing or lessening the fear and stigma attached to teenage mothers is a good start.

